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INTRODUCTION

On Sept. 22, 1993, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated the National Emission Standards for
Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAPs) for perchloroethylene (PCE) dry cleaning. Thisrule provides specific
requirements that dry cleaners using PCE must meet to comply with the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments
(CAAA).

We gratefully acknowledge the ability to utilize this guide which was produced by the Program for Toxic Air
Pollutant Studies (PTAPS) at the lowa Waste Reduction Center. It was developed to assist dry cleanersin
meeting these requirements.

The requirements that each dry cleaner must meet depend on the type of machines used (transfer or dry-to-dry),
the amount of PCE afacility purchased in the preceding twelve months, and whether construction or
reconstruction of the facility began before or after Dec. 9, 1991.

The first step in determining your requirements is to calculate the total gallons of PCE purchased over the last
twelve (12) months.
gallons

The next step requires using the chart below to determine the source category that applies to your facility based on
total PCE purchased and the type of equipment used. It isrecommended that the correct source category be
circled.

SMALL AREA SOURCE requirements apply if PCE purchased over the preceding 12 month period was:

For facilities with Amount of PCE Purchased
Dry-to-dry machines only lessthan 140 gallons
Combination of transfer and dry-to-dry systems lessthan 140 gallons
Transfer system(s) only lessthan 200 gallons

LARGE AREA SOURCE requirements apply if PCE purchased over the preceding 12 month period was:

For facilities with Amount of PCE Purchased
Dry-to-dry machines only 140 - 2100 gallons
Combination of transfer systemsand dry-to-dry systems 140 - 1800 gallons

Transfer system(s) only 200 - 1800 gallons

MAJOR SOURCE requirements apply if PCE purchased over the preceding 12 month period was:

For facilities with Amount of PCE Purchased
Dry-to-dry machines only 2100 + gallons

Combination of transfer system(s) and dry-to-dry systems 1800 + gallons

Transfer system(s) only 1800 + gallons
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Important note: Transfer system(s) means any system where washing and drying are performed in different
machines. Thismay be awasher and dryer, washer and reclaimer, or dry-to-dry machine and
reclaimer. Dry-to-dry machines are considered atransfer system if clothes are transferred to
different machine(s).

Once the source category is established, the next step isto determine if your facility isnew or existing. If
construction or reconstruction of your facility began:

on or after Dec. 9, 1991, then itisaNEW SOURCE.

before Dec. 9, 1991, it isan EXISTING SOURCE.

Reconstructed means any component of the dry cleaning system is replaced (including equipment) and the fixed
capital cost of the new components exceeds 50 percent of the fixed capital cost that would be required to construct
anew comparable source.

At this point, you should know what source category requirements apply. The remaining pages explain the
requirements for new and existing facilities in each source category.

EPA reports discussed in the guide should be sent to:

Attn: Tamera Thompson

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality - Air Division
629 East Main Street

P. O. Box 10009

Richmond, Virginia 23240-0009

For moreinformation, please contact the Virginia Small Business Assistance Program at (804) 698-4394.

This material is based upon work supported by the U.S. Small Business Administration under Award Number SB-
BD-92-007-02.

Any opinions, findings and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this publication are those of the
author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the U.S. Small Business Administration.
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Per chloroethylene Dry Cleaners

Requirementsfor Existing Small Area Sources

Pollution control equipment (refrigerated condenser or carbon adsorber) is not required.
By June 18, 1994, each facility must:
[INITIAL NOTIFICATION REPORT REQUIREMENTS]
File an initial notification report, signed by aresponsible company official. To satisfy this
regquirement complete the I nitial Notification Report Form in Attachment A, and send to the |
address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.
By Dec. 20, 1993, each facility must:
[POLLUTION PREVENTION OPERATING PROCEDURE REQUIREMENTS]

Maintain on-site, a copy of the design specifications and operating manuals for each machine and
control device at the facility.

Keep machine doors closed at all times except when transferring clothes.
Operate and maintain system according to manufacturer's specifications and recommendations.

Drain cartridge filtersin their housings or other sealed container for 24 hours before removing
from facility.

Store all PCE solvent and waste in sealed containers.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION INSPECTION AND REPAIR REQUIREMENTS]

Inspect equipment every two weeks for perceptible leaks while the dry cleaning systemis
operating. The sample EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D |
lists the components that must be inspected.

Maintain for five years records of inspection dates, name and location of system components

where leaks are found, dates of repair and record of written or verbal part orders. The sample
EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D may be copied and used |
for this.

Repair perceptible leaks within 24 hours. Parts must be ordered within two working days and
installed within five days of receipt.
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[POLLUTION PREVENTION RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS]

Perform the following on the first working day of every month:

=

Sum of the volume of PCE purchases made in each of the previous 12 months. Show calculations.

2. Record purchases for each month in alog. The sample PCE PURCHASE L OG provided in
Attachments E1 and E2 may be copied and used for this. Attachment E1 isfor the first 12 months
of record keeping, and Attachment E2 should be used forever after.

3. If no purchases were made, record that zero gallons were purchased.

4. Evauate and record the total sum to determine the new source category.

NOTE: If the source category increases, then new requirements must be met within 180 days or by Sept. 22,
1996, which ever islater. Within 30 days after meeting new requirements the owner/operator must
send aletter to the reporting address on the INTRODUCTION sheet, stating:

1. Thenew yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this sheet.
3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.
5. Maintain al recordsfor five years.
By June 18, 1994, each facility must:
[POLLUTION PREVENTION COMPLIANCE REPORT REQUIREMENTS]

Send the Pollution Prevention Compliance Form by registered mail, signed by responsible
company officia certifying:

Y early PCE consumption.
Whether or not compliance is met for itemsin this guide.
All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

wn e

To satisfy this requirement complete the Pollution Prevention Compliance Report Form in
Attachment B, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.

For moreinformation, please contact Virginia Small Business Assistance Program at (804) 698-4394..
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Per chloroethylene Dry Cleaners
Requirementsfor New Small Area Sourcesand New L arge Area Sour ces

By Sept. 20, 1993, each facility must:

[CONTROL EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS]
Use adry-to-dry system with arefrigerated condenser.

If atransfer systemswasinstalled between Dec. 8, 1991, and Sept. 22, 1993, then:

A refrigerated condenser or carbon adsorber may be used until Sept. 22, 1996. By Sept. 23,
1996 a dry-to-dry system with arefrigerated condenser must be used.

Use adiverter valve with the refrigerated condenser so air drawn into the dry cleaning
machine when the door opens does not pass through the refrigerated condenser.

[CONTROL EQUIPMENT MONITORING AND RECORDING REQUIREMENTS]
When using arefriger ated condenser the following checks must be made weekly:

For adry-to-dry machine, dryer or reclaimer, measure the temperature at the end of the
cycle, on the outlet side of the refrigerated condenser. (The temperature should be 45°F or
less)

For transfer systems, measure the inlet and outlet temperature difference of the air-PCE
mixture through the refrigerated condenser on washers. (It should be 20°F or greater.) This
includes a dry-to-dry machine when used with areclaimer.

Maintain records of date of checks and temperature recorded. The sample MONITORING
LOG FOR REFRIGERATED CONDENSER, in Attachment F1, may be copied and used |
for this.

If any parameters are not within the limits, adjustments and repairs must be made. Parts must
be ordered within two working days of detection, and must be installed with in five working
days after receipt.

When using a carbon adsorber (appliesto systemsinstalled between Dec. 9, 1991, and Sept. 22, 1993)
the following checks must be made weekly:

Measure the PCE concentration out of the carbon adsor ber with a colorimetric detector tube
while the machine is venting to that carbon adsorber at the end of the last cycle prior to
desorption of the carbon adsorber. The PCE concentration must not exceed 100 ppm.

Maintain records of date of checks and temperature recorded. The sample MONITORING
LOG FOR CARBON ADSORBER, in Attachment F2, may be copied and used for this. |

If any parameters are not within the limits, adjustments and repairs must be made. Parts must

be ordered within two working days of detection, and must be installed with in five working
days after receipt.
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By June 18, 1994, or within 30 days after beginning operation, each facility must:
[CONTROL EQUIPMENT COMPLIANCE REPORT REQUIREMENTS]

Send the Control Equipment Compliance Report Form by registered mail, signed by
responsible company officia certifying:

1. Yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this guide.
3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

To satisfy this requirement, complete the Control Equipment Compliance Report Form in Attachment C and |
send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.

By June 18, 1994, each facility must:

[INITIAL NOTIFICATION REPORT REQUIREMENTS]
Filean initial notification report, send by registered mail, signed by a responsible company
official. To satisfy this requirement complete the I nitial Notification Report Form in
Attachment A, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of thisguide. of this |
guide.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION OPERATING PROCEDURE REQUIREMENTS]

Maintain on-site, a copy of the design specifications and operating manuals for each machine and
control device at the facility.

Keep machine doors closed at al times except when transferring clothes.
Operate and maintain system according to manufacturer's specifications and recommendations.

Drain cartridge filtersin their housings or other sealed container for 24 hours before removing
from facility.

Store all PCE solvent and waste in sealed containers.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION INSPECTION AND REPAIR REQUIREMENTS]

New L arge Area Sour ces should inspect equipment every week for perceptible leaks while the

dry cleaning system is operating. New Small Area Sour ces should do it every other week. The
sample EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D liststhe |
components that must be inspected.

Maintain for five years records of inspection dates, name and location of system components

where leaks are found, dates of repair and record of written or verbal part orders. The sample
EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D may be copied and used |
for this.

Repair perceptible leaks within 24 hours. Parts must be ordered within two working days and
installed within five days of receipt.
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[POLLUTION PREVENTION RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS]

On thefirst working day of every month the following cal culations must be performed:

=

Sum of the volume of PCE purchases made in each of the previous 12 months. Show calculation.

2. Record purchases for each month in alog. The sample PCE PURCHASE L OG provided in
Attachments E1 and E2 may be copied and used for this. Attachment E1 isfor the first 12 months
of record keeping, and Attachment E2 should be used forever after.

3. If no purchases were made, record zero gallons purchased.

4. Evauate and record the total sum to determine the new source category.

NOTE: If the source category increases then new requirements must be met within 180 days or by
Sept. 22, 1996, which ever islater. Within 30 days after meeting new requirements the owner/operator
must send a letter to the reporting address on the INTRODUCTION shest, stating:

1. Thenew yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this sheet.
3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.
5. Maintain al recordsfor five years.
By June 18, 1994, or immediately after beginning operation, each facility must:
[POLLUTION PREVENTION COMPLIANCE REPORT REQUIREMENTS]
Send aregistered letter signed by responsible company officia certifying:
1. Yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this guide.

3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

To satisfy this requirement complete the Pollution Prevention Compliance Report Form in
Attachment B, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.

For moreinformation, please contact the Virginia Small Business Assistance Program at (804) 698-4394.
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Perchloroethylene Dry Cleaners

Requirementsfor Existing L arge Area Sour ces

By June 18, 1994, each facility must:
[INITIAL NOTIFICATION REPORT REQUIREMENTS]

Send areport registered mail, signed by aresponsible company official, to the reporting address

on the INTRODUCTION sheet. To satisfy thisrequirement complete the I nitial Notification
Report Form in Attachment A, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this |
guide.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION OPERATING PROCEDURE REQUIREMENTS]

Maintain on-site, a copy of the design specifications and operating manuals for each machine and
control device at the facility.

Keep machine doors closed at all times except when transferring clothes.
Operate and maintain system according to manufacturer's specifications and recommendations.

Drain cartridge filtersin their housings or other sealed container for 24 hours before removing
from facility.

Store all PCE solvent and waste in sealed containers.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION INSPECTION AND REPAIR REQUIREMENTS]

Inspect equipment every week for perceptible leaks while the dry cleaning system is operating.
The sample EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D lists the
components that must be inspected.

Maintain for five years records of inspection dates, name and location of system components

where leaks are found, dates of repair and record of written or verbal part orders. The sample
EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D may be copied and used |
for this.

Repair perceptible leaks within 24 hours. Parts must be ordered within two working days and
installed within five days of receipt.
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[POLLUTION PREVENTION RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS]
On the first working day of every month the following cal culations must be performed:

=

Sum of the volume of PCE purchases made in each of the previous 12 months. Show calculations.

2. Record purchases for each month in alog. The sample PCE PURCHASE L OG provided in
Attachments E1 and E2 may be copied and used for this. Attachment E1 isfor the first 12 months
of record keeping, and Attachment E2 should be used forever after.

3. If no purchases were made, record zero gallons purchased.

4. Evaluate and record the total sum to determine the new source category.

NOTE: If the source category increases then new requirements must be met within 180 days or by
Sept. 22, 1996, which ever islater. Within 30 days after meeting new requirements the owner/operator

must send aletter to the reporting address on the INTRODUCTION shest, stating:

1. Thenew yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this sheet.
3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

5. Maintain al record for five years.

By June 18, 1994, each facility must:
[POLLUTION PREVENTION COMPLIANCE REPORT REQUIREMENTS]
Send aregistered |etter signed by responsible company official certifying:
1. Yearly PCE consumption.

2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this guide.
3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

To satisfy this requirement complete the Pollution Prevention Compliance Report Form in
Attachment B, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.
By Sept. 22, 1996, each facility must:
[CONTROL EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS]

Use arefrigerated condenser. A carbon adsorber that was installed before Sept. 22, 1993, may
be used in place of the refrigerated condenser.

Not vent the air-PCE mixture from the refrigerated condenser to the atmosphere until the washer
door isopen. Thisincludes adry-to-dry machine when used with areclaimer.

Not use the same refrigerated condenser coil for awasher that is used by adry-to-dry machine,
dryer or reclaimer.

Use adiverter valve so air drawn into the dry cleaning machine when the door opens does not
pass through the refrigerated condenser.

Never vent a carbon adsorber to the atmosphere.
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[CONTROL EQUIPMENT MONITORING AND RECORDING REQUIREMENTS]
When arefrigerated condenser is used, the following checks must be made weekly:

For adry-to-dry machine, dryer or reclaimer, measure the temperature at the end of the
cycle, on the outlet side of the refrigerated condenser. (The temperature should be 45°F or
less.)

Measure the inlet and outlet temperature difference of the air-PCE mixture through the
refrigerated condenser on washers. (It should be 20°F or greater.) Thisincludes a dry-to-dry
machine when used with areclaimer.

Maintain records of date of checks and temperature recorded. The sample M ONITORING
LOG FOR REFRIGERATED CONDENSER, in Attachment F1, may be copied and used |
for this.

If parameters are not within limits, adjustments and repairs must be made. Parts must be
ordered within two working days of detection and must be installed with in five working days
after receipt.

When acarbon adsor ber isused, the following checks must be made weekly:

Measure the PCE concentration out of the carbon adsorber with a colorimetric detector tube
while the machine is venting to that carbon adsorber at the end of the last cycle prior to
desorption of the carbon adsorber. The PCE concentration must not exceed 100 ppm.

Provide a sampling port for monitoring within the exhaust outlet of the carbon adsorber that
is easily accessible and located at |east 8 stack or duct diameters downstream from any flow
disturbance such as a bend, expansion, contraction, or outlet; downstream from no other inlet;
and 2 stack or duct diameters upstream from any flow disturbance.

Maintain records of date of checks and temperature recorded. The sample M ONITORING
LOG FOR CARBON ADSORBER, in Attachment F2, may be copied and used for this. |

If parameters are not within limits, adjustments and repairs must be made. Parts must be
ordered within two working days of detection and must be installed within five working days
after receipt.
By Oct. 22, 1996, each facility must:

[CONTROL EQUIPMENT COMPLIANCE REPORT REQUIREMENTS]

Send aregistered letter signed by responsible company official certifying
1. Yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this guide.
3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

To satisfy this requirement complete the Control Equipment Compliance Report Form in Attachment
C, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.

For moreinformation, please contact the Virginia Small Business Assistance Program at (804) 698-4394.
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Per chloroethylene Dry Cleaners
Requirementsfor New Major Sources

By Sept. 22, 1993, each facility must:

[CONTROL EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS]
For dry-to-dry systems:

Use adry-to-dry system with arefrigerated condenser.
If atransfer systemswas installed between Dec. 8, 1991, and Sept. 22, 1993:

A refrigerated condenser or carbon adsorber may be used until Sept. 22, 1996. By Sept. 23,
1996, a dry-to-dry system with arefrigerated condenser must be used or atransfer system
with aroom enclosure must be used. All air from the room enclosure must be vented through
a carbon adsorber.

Use adiverter valve so air drawn into the dry cleaning machine when the door opens does not
pass through the refrigerated condenser.

Pass PCE gas-vapors from inside drum through a carbon adsorber after the cycle is complete,
but before or as the door of the machine is opened.

[CONTROL EQUIPMENT MONITORING AND RECORDING REQUIREMENTS]
When arefrigerated condenser isused, the following equipment checks must be made weekly:

For adry-to-dry machine, dryer or reclaimer, measure the temperature at the end of the
cycle, on the outlet side of the refrigerated condenser. (The temperature should be 45°F or
less.)

For transfer systems, measure the inlet and outlet temperature difference of the air-PCE
mixture through the refrigerated condenser on washers. (It should be 20°F or greater.) This
includes a dry-to-dry machine when used with areclaimer.

Maintain records of date of checks and temperature recorded. The sample MONITORING
LOG FOR REFRIGERATED CONDENSER, in Attachment F1, may be copied and used |
for this.

If parameters are not within the limits, adjustments and repairs must be made. Parts must be
ordered within two working days of detection, and must be installed with in five working
days after receipt.

When a carbon adsor ber is used, the following equipment checks must be made weekly:
M easure the PCE concentration out of the carbon adsorber with a colorimetric detector tube

while the machine is venting to that carbon adsorber at the end of the last cycle prior to
desorption of the carbon adsorber. The PCE concentration must not exceed 100 ppm.
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Provide a sampling port for monitoring within the exhaust outlet of the carbon adsorber that
iseasily accessible and located at |east 8 stack or duct diameters downstream from any flow
disturbance such as a bend, expansion, contraction, or outlet; downstream from no other inlet;

and 2 stack or duct diameters upstream from any flow disturbance.

M easure the PCE concentration in the open space above articles at the rear of the drum

immediately after the door is opened at the end of the cycle with a colorimetric detector tube.

(Needsto be 300 ppm or less.)

LOG FOR CARBON ADSORBER, in Attachment F2, may be copied and used for this.

If parameters are not within limits, adjustments and repairs must be made. Parts must be
ordered within two working days of detection, and must be installed with in five working
days after receipt.

By Oct. 22, 1996, or within 30 days after beginning operation, each facility must:
[CONTROL EQUIPMENT COMPLIANCE REPORT REQUIREMENTS]
Send aregistered |etter signed by responsible company official certifying:

1. Yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this guide.
3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

To satisfy this requirement complete the Control Equipment Compliance Report Form in Attachment

C, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.

By June 18, 1994, each facility must:
[INITIAL NOTIFICATION REPORT REQUIREMENTS]

Send areport registered mail, signed by aresponsible company official to the reporting address

on the INTRODUCTION sheet. To satisfy this requirement complete the EPA recommended
form Initial Notification Report Form in Attachment A, and send to the address on the
INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION OPERATING PROCEDURE REQUIREMENTS]

Maintain on-site, a copy of the design specifications and operating manuals for each machine and

control device at the facility.
Keep machine doors closed at all times except when transferring clothes.
Operate and maintain system according to manufacturer's specifications and recommendations.

Drain cartridge filtersin their housings or other sealed container for 24 hours before removing
from facility.

Store all PCE solvent and waste in sealed containers.
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[POLLUTION PREVENTION INSPECTION AND REPAIR REQUIREMENTS]

Inspect equipment every week for perceptible leaks while the dry cleaning system is operating.
The sample EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D liststhe
components that must be inspected.

Maintain for five years records of inspection dates, name and location of system components
where leaks are found, dates of repair and record of written or verbal part orders. The sample
EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D may be copied and used
for this.

Repair perceptible leaks within 24 hours. Parts must be ordered within two working days and
installed within five days of receipt.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS]

On thefirst day of every month the following calculations must be performed:

=

Sum of the volume of PCE purchases made in each of the previous 12 months.

2. Record purchases for each month in alog. The sample PCE PURCHASE L OG provided in
Attachments E1 and E2 may be copied and used for this. Attachment E1 isfor the first 12 months
of record keeping, and Attachment E2 should be used forever after.

3. If no purchases were made, then record zero gallons purchased.

4. Evauate and record the total sum to determine the new source category.

5. Maintain al record for five years.

By June 18, 1994, or immediately after beginning operation, each facility must:
[POLLUTION PREVENTION COMPLIANCE REPORT REQUIREMENTS]
___ Send aregistered letter signed by responsible company official certifying:
1. Yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this guide.

3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

To satisfy this requirement complete the Pollution Prevention Compliance Report Form in
Attachment B, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.

For moreinformation, please contact the Virginia Small Business Assistance Program at (804) 698-4394.
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Perchloroethylene Dry Cleaners
Requirementsfor Existing Major_Sour ces

By June 18, 1994, each facility must:
[INITIAL NOTIFICATION REPORT REQUIREMENTS]

Send areport registered mail, signed by a responsible company officia to the reporting address

on the INTRODUCTION sheet. To satisfy thisrequirement complete the I nitial Notification
Report Form in Attachment A, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this
guide.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION OPERATING PROCEDURE REQUIREMENTS]

Maintain on-site, a copy of the design specifications and operating manuals for each machine and
control device at the facility.

K eep machine doors closed at all times except when transferring clothes.
Operate and maintain system according to manufacturers specifications and recommendations.

Drain cartridge filtersin their housings or other sealed container for 24 hours before removing
from facility.

Store all PCE solvent and waste in sealed containers.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION INSPECTION AND REPAIR REQUIREMENTS]

Inspect equipment every week for perceptible leaks while the dry cleaning system is operating.
The sample EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D liststhe
components that must be inspected.

Maintain for five years records of inspection dates, name and location of system components
where leaks are found, dates of repair and record of written or verbal part orders. The sample
EQUIPMENT INSPECTION AND REPAIR LOG in Attachment D may be copied and used
for this.

Repair perceptible leaks within 24 hours. Parts must be ordered within two working days and
installed within five days of receipt.

[POLLUTION PREVENTION RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS]

=

oW

On thefirst day of every month the following calculations must be performed:

Sum of the volume of PCE purchases made in each of the previous 12 months. Show calculation.
Record purchases for each month in alog. The sample PCE PURCHASE LOG provided in
Attachments E1 and E2 may be copied and used for this. Attachment E1 isfor the first 12
months of record keeping, and Attachment E2 should be used forever after.

If no purchases were made, record zero gallons purchased.

Evaluate and record the total sum to determine new source category.

Maintain all record for five years.
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By June 18, 1994, each facility must:
[POLLUTION PREVENTION COMPLIANCE REPORT REQUIREMENTS]
___ Send aregistered letter signed by responsible company official certifying:
1. Yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this guide.

3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

To satisfy this requirement, complete the Pollution Prevention Compliance Report Form in
Attachment B and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.

By Sept. 22, 1996, each facility must:
[CONTROL EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS]
For dry-to-dry systems.

Use arefrigerated condenser. A carbon adsorber that was installed before Sept. 22, 1993,
may be used in place of the refrigerated condenser.

Not vent the air-PCE mixture from the refrigerated condenser to the atmosphere until the
washer door is open. Thisincludes a dry-to-dry machine when used with a reclaimer.

Not use the same refrigerated condenser coil for awasher that is used by adry-to-dry
machine, dryer or reclaimer.

Use adiverter valve so air drawn into the dry cleaning machine when the door opens does not
pass through the refrigerated condenser.

Never vent a carbon adsorber to the atmosphere.

For transfer systems (this includes any system where washing and drying are performed in different
machines):

Operate the dry cleaning machine inside an enclosed room. All air from the room must be
vented through a carbon adsorber.

[CONTROL EQUIPMENT MONITORING AND RECORDING REQUIREMENTS]

When arefrigerated condenser is used, the following equipment checks must be made weekly:
For adry-to-dry machine, dryer or reclaimer, measure the temperature at the end of the
cycle, on the outlet side of the refrigerated condenser. (The temperature should be 45°F or
less.)
For transfer machines, measure the inlet and outlet temperature difference of the air-PCE

mixture through the refrigerated condenser on washers. (It should be 20°F or greater.) This
includes a dry-to-dry machine when used with areclaimer.
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Maintain records of date of checks and temperature recorded. The sample MONITORING
LOG FOR REFRIGERATED CONDENSER, in Attachment F1, may be copied and used |
for this.

If parameters are not within limits, adjustments and repairs must be made. Parts must be
ordered within two working days of detection and must be installed with in five working days
after receipt.

When using a carbon adsor ber, the following equipment checks must be made weekly:

Measure the PCE concentration out of the carbon adsorber with a colorimetric detector tube
while the machine is venting to that carbon adsorber at the end of the last cycle prior to
desorption of the carbon adsorber. The PCE concentration must not exceed 100 ppm.
Provide a sampling port for monitoring within the exhaust outlet of the carbon adsorber that
iseasily accessible and located at least 8 stack or duct diameters downstream from any flow
disturbance such as a bend, expansion, contraction, or outlet;downstream from no other inlet;
and 2 track or duct diameters upstream from any flow disturbance.

Maintain records of date of checks and temperature recorded. The sample MONITORING
LOG FOR CARBON ADSORBER, in Attachment F2, may be copied and used for this. |

By Oct. 22, 1996, each facility must:
[CONTROL EQUIPMENT COMPLIANCE REPORT REQUIREMENTS]
__ Send aregistered letter signed by responsible company official certifying:
1. Yearly PCE consumption.
2. Whether or not compliance is met for items on this guide.

3. All information contained in the statement is correct and accurate.

To satisfy this requirement complete the Control Equipment Compliance Report Form in Attachment
C, and send to the address on the INTRODUCTION sheet of this guide.

For moreinformation, please contact the Virginia Small Business Assistance Program at (804) 698-4394.
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